BUIL & GINÉ

See on the online boutique


The Buil & Giné estate is situated at Gratallops, in the Catalonian wine growing region to the south east of Barcelona, in the heart of the Priorat mountains. Here, the landscape is a reflection of the region’s harsh, dry climate, with terraces carved out of steep hills and rugged soils of black slate and quartz, known locally as ‘llicorella’, for which the region is famous.

The Priorat is one of two regions in Spain to have obtained DOCa status (Denominaciò D’origen Qualificada), renowned for the quality and the consistency of its vineyards and wines. Vines have been growing in the Priorat for centuries, since the Carthusian monks first brought back vine stocks and winemaking techniques from their travels in France.

The vines on the estate, most of them over 45 years old, flourish in this terroir where they plunge their roots into the soil to seek out essential nutrients at depth, allowing them to resist the harsh climatic conditions that are endemic here.

Xavier Buil, a native of the region descended from six generations of winemakers, founded Buil & Giné in 1998, creating the name from an amalgamation of his grandfather’s name “Buil” and his mother’s maiden name “Giné”. Xavier called on the precious support of experienced partners, including José Sardo, whose commitment and desire to innovate contributed to the magnificent work accomplished on the estate with total respect for nature and the vineyard. Their aim, which has not waivered for over 20 years, is to create wines that incarnate the soul of the terroir from which they spring, that are true to their origins, honest, refined, authentic and accessible.

Kairos has the great honour of being able to present a selection of three rare wines from this estate, from an extremely limited production (only 300 bottles per vintage), one of which is made from 100-year-old vines. Kairos has exclusivity for these specially selected wines in Switzerland. This partnership is the result of meeting between José Sardo, an ambassador for the Priorat, and Yves Delaporte who, inspired by the same values, wish to share the discovery of this gem of an estate with other wine lovers.

See on the online boutique

BUIL & GINÉ

À découvrir dans le magasin


Buil & Giné est situé à Gratallops, Catalogne, une région viticole localisée au sud-est de Barcelone, et logée au cœur des montagnes du Priorat. Le paysage traduit le climat rigoureux et sec de la région. Il se caractérise par ses pentes raides et ses terrasses qui se dressent sur un terrain accidenté constitué d’ardoises noires et de quartz, intitulé « Ilicorella » par les indigènes, et pour lesquellles la région est réputée.

Le Priorat est une des deux régions en Espagne à recevoir la dénomination DOQ (Denominaciò D’origen Qualificada), réputée pour la qualité et la consistance de son vignoble et de ses vins.

Les vignes ont grandi dans le priorat depuis des siècles et trouvent leur origine avec les moines chartreux qui, les premiers, apportèrent les cèpes et les techniques de vinification dans la région qu’ils ramenèrent de leur voyage en France.

Les vignes du domaine, pour la majorité âgées de plus de 45 ans, prospèrent dans ce sol dont les cèpes aux profondes racines absorbent les nutriments en profondeur. Ceci les rend résistantes aux rigoureuses conditions climatiques communes à la région.

Xavier Buil, natif de la région, et descendant de six générations de vignerons, a fondé le domaine Buil &Giné en 1998, combinant le nom de son grand-père « Buil » et le nom de jeune fille de sa mère « Giné ». Xavier s’entoure de partenaires précieux et expérimentés parmi lesquels José Sardo. Il contribue par son implication et son cœur à développer de belles et nouvelles idées afin de mettre en lumière le magnifique travail effectué sur le domaine dans le respect de la nature et du vignoble. Leur mission depuis maintenant plus de 20 ans est de créer des vins possédant l’âme du terroir qui les a vu naître, fidèles à leur origine, honnêtes, raffinés, authentiques et accessibles.

Kairos a le privilège de présenter une sélection de trois vins rares et sélectionnés pour vous, issus d’une production très limitée (300 bouteilles par millésime), et pour l’un d’entre eux d’une vigne centenaire. Kairos bénéficie de l’exclusivité en Suisse. Ce partenariat a été réalisé grâce à la rencontre entre José Sardo, ambassadeur du Priorat, et Yves Delaporte. Tous deux sont animés par les mêmes valeurs et souhaitent partager cette découverte avec les amoureux du vin.

À découvrir dans le magasin