CASTELL d’ENCÙS

See on the online boutique


A thirst for experimentation, perfectionism and just a touch of folly are the qualities that are associated with Castell d’Encùs.

The vines grow in the Pallars Jussà region of the Spanish Pyrenees, a mountainous zone that rises to an altitude of 1300 metres. They benefit from a south-westerly orientation, good sunshine exposure and protection from the northerly winds. Surrounded by swathes of woodland, and marked by the history of the Hospitalier monks who, in the 12th century, carved deep cavities out of the rock in which they fermented wine, this secluded spot is truly a very special and magical place.

The wines of Encùs sprang from a love affair that began in 2001 when Raül Bobet first discovered this amazing site. A visionary in search of excellence, with long years of experience in wine and a desire to experiment, he set out to make wine as close to nature as possible.

The calcareous soils, poor in organic matter in coherence with to the continental climate, combined with wide thermal amplitude between day and night, produce elegant wines of immense quality.

Of the 95 hectares of the property, 23 hectares are planted at high density with varieties such as Cabernet Sauvignon, Cabernet Franc, Merlot, Pinot Noir, Syrah, Petit Verdot, Sauvignon Blanc, Riesling, Semillon and Albarino. The rest is untouched woodland.

The grapes from the estate are picked by hand into small 10kg crates. They are fermented in oak barrels, or stainless steel, as well as in vats that have been hewn out of the stone. The use of these three materials allows Castell d’Encùs to produce wines of varied character and nuance, with great aromatic complexity.

Where the winemaking is concerned, the focus is on the different types of natural fermentation that occur in the stone vats carved in the rock, that operate by gravity. In his work, Raoùl has also long sought to reduce and even eliminate the use of sulphur during barrel ageing.

The cellar has been designed to use gravity for transferring wine into the barrels, and is equipped with technologically advanced winemaking installations.

For Castell d’Encùs and Raoùl, the evolution of this winemaking project is never ending, and that is what creates the magic. At Kairos we are delighted to count them amongst our partners, and have the privilege of offering our customers a selection of their wines in exclusivity in Switzerland.

See on the online boutique

CASTELL d’ENCÙS

À découvrir dans le magasin


La recherche, le perfectionnisme et une touche de « folie » sont les vertus associées à Castell d’Encùs.

Les vignes sont situées dans la région des Pyrénées du Pallars Jussà ; une zone montagneuse, atteignant une altitude de 1300 mètres. Elles jouissent d’une orientation Sud- Ouest, d’une bonne exposition solaire et d’une protection contre les vents du nord. L’importante zone boisée alentours, ajoutée à l’histoire des moines hospitaliers qui y ont vécu au XIIème siècle, creusant à même le rocher des cavités profondes de fermentation pour le vin qu’ils produisaient, font de cet endroit isolé, un lieu magique.

L’origine du vin d’Encùs est une histoire d’amour qui commence en 2001, lorsque Raül Bobet découvre le site. Un rêveur a la recherche de l’excellence et qui, avec ses longues années d’expérience dans le vin, s’engage sur sa production au plus près de la nature tout en travaillant l’expérimentation.

Les terrains Franco-calcaires, contenant peu de matière organique, ceci en adéquation avec le climat continental et un grand contraste thermique entre les jours et les nuits, permettent d’obtenir des vins élégants et de très haute qualité.

Des 95 ha de la propriété, 23 ha ont été plantés en haute densité avec des variétés telles que : Cabernet Sauvignon, Cabernet Franc, Merlot, Pinot Noir, Syrah, Petit Verdot, Sauvignon Blanc, Riesling, Sémillon y Albarigno. Le reste du terrain a préservé ses bois.

Les vendanges se font manuellement dans des petites caisses de 10 kg, avec les raisins provenant exclusivement du domaine. Le vin est fermenté dans des fûts de chêne ou d’acier inoxydable ainsi que dans les cuves de roche naturelle à même le rocher. Grâce à ces 3 matériaux, le domaine produit des vins aux tons et nuances très différents, avec une grande complexité aromatique.

En ce qui concerne les aspects œnologiques, la recherche se concentre sur les différentes fermentations naturelles qui se produisent dans plusieurs cuves rupestres en pierre creusées dans le rocher et qui fonctionnent par gravité. Raoùl, dans son travail, tend également depuis longtemps à réduire et éliminer le soufre au cours du vieillissement en barrique.

La cave a été conçue pour utiliser le système de la gravité lors du cheminement du raisin jusqu’aux fûts et possède une installation technologique avancée.

Pour Castell d’Encùs et Raoùl, le projet de l’élaboration d’un seul vin ne s’arrête jamais, et c’est là le rêve. Nous sommes très heureux de le compter parmi les partenaires de Kairos et d’avoir le privilège d’offrir à nos clients un choix de ses vins en exclusivité suisse.

À découvrir dans le magasin