CLOS DE TSAMPEHRO

See on the online boutique


Clos de Tsampéhro is the shared adventure of Joël Briguet, Vincent Tenud, Christian Gellerstad and Johanna Dayer, four lovers of good wine, the Valais, and with a profound respect for nature.

The magical Clos de Tsampéhro is an estate of just three hectares in a single block that sits at an average altitude of 660 metres in the vine growing commune of Lens, in Switzerland, in the heart of the mountains of the Valais.

The work in the vineyard is driven by the greatest respect for the soils and the environment. All treatments are carried out with organic products, and biodynamic preparations are applied twice a year, after the grape harvest and in the spring. Numerous fruit trees have been planted to build up a balanced ecosystem within the Clos, and green manure is provided by cover crops such as red clover, alfalfa and fescue grasses. And to help boost the natural organic content of the soils, compost made from shredded vine cuttings and grape residues (skin and pips) left after fermentation is spread in the vines.

The major part of the work in the vineyards is done by hand, with meticulous care. The soils are maintained by regular hoeing and weeding using winch traction. No chemical herbicides are used.

The philosophy of the Clos consists of minimizing intervention and allowing the grapes to express their natural potential. When making the red wines, the grapes are never crushed and are moved around by gravity, and the white grapes are pressed in whole bunches. All four of their wines are vinified exclusively in French oak, with the barrels being used over several vintages to avoid overpowering the wines. The reds are fermented in large conical wooden vats before being transferred to barrels of between 225 and 500 litres. The whites are wholly fermented in barrels, a small proportion of which are new.

The wines are kept for a minimum of twenty months in barrel, and regularly stirred to create the extra smoothness that comes from contact with the lees. There is no racking, nor tartaric stabilization or fining during the maturing phase, in order to preserve all the natural characteristics of the young wines.

Today Clos de Tsampéhro has a palette of ten grape varieties at its disposal for the creation of its four wines. The choice of varieties and the proportions cultivated were determined by the desire to produce three blended wines, including one that is an audacious mix of indigenous and international varieties, and a fourth crafted from a rare and ancient variety:

Clos de Tsampéhro Brut > Petite Arvine, Chardonnay & Pinot Noir
Clos de Tsampéhro White > Rèze & Heïda
Clos de Tsampéhro Red > Cornalin, Merlot, Cabernet Sauvignon & Cabernet Franc
Clos de Tsampéhro Completer


These four crus are now recognized as part of the elite of Swiss wines. KAIROS is delighted to offer all four wines to its customers, including the exceedingly rare and limited quantity Completer. Top quality wines that also have the incredible capacity to provoke emotion through a unique resonance conferred by the magic of their place of origin.

See on the online boutique

CLOS DE TSAMPEHRO

À découvrir dans le magasin


Le Clos de Tsampéhro, c’est une belle aventure qui regroupe quatre amoureux du vin, du Valais et qui sont particulièrement respectueux de la nature. Joël Briguet, Vincent Tenud, Christian Gellerstad et Johanna Dayer.

Le magique Clos de Tsampéhro est situé en Suisse dans la commune viticole de Lens, en Valais central au cœur des alpes valaisannes, à une altitude moyenne de 660 mètres. Il présente une surface viticole de 3 ha d’un seul tenant.

Le travail de la vigne sur le domaine se distingue par le plus grand respect des sols et de l’environnement. Tous les traitements sont effectués avec des produits issus de la culture biologique et des préparations biodynamiques sont appliquées deux fois par an après les vendanges et au printemps. Pour développer un écosystème équilibré au sein du Clos, de nombreux arbres fruitiers ont été plantés. Des engrais verts sont présents grâce à des couverts à base de trèfle rouge, luzerne ou fétuques. Dans le but d’ajouter de la matière organique naturelle, du compost et des bois de taille une fois broyés ainsi que le marc (peaux et pépins) des raisins après la fermentation sont répandus dans les vignes .

L’essentiel du travail à la vigne est effectué manuellement et fait l’objet de soins méticuleux. Les sols sont également entretenus par des bêchages de désherbage réguliers grâce à des labours au treuil (aucun désherbage chimique).

La phisophie sur le Clos consiste à minimiser les interventions et à exploiter les ressources naturelles des raisins. Pour les vins rouges, les raisins ne sont jamais foulés et sont déplacés par gravité, les blancs sont pressés en grappes entières. Toute la vinification se déroule sous bois pour les quatre cuvées, uniquement à base de chêne français. Les barriques sont utilisées pour plusieurs millésimes, afin d’éviter de dénaturer les vins. Les rouges sont fermentés dans de grandes cuves tronconiques en bois avant d’être placés dans des pièces de 225 à 500 litres. Quant aux blancs, ils sont fermentés intégralement en fût pour intégrer une faible proportion de bois neuf.

Les cuvées restent au minimum vingt mois en barrique et sont bâtonnées fréquemment pour gagner en rondeur grâce au contact avec les lies. Pas de soutirage pendant l’élevage, ni stabilisation tartrique, ni collage afin de préserver toutes les caractéristiques des jeunes vins.

Le Clos de Tsampéhro présente aujourd’hui une palette de dix cépages utilisés pour l’élaboration de ses quatre cuvées. Leur choix et les surfaces cultivées ont été déterminés par la volonté de produire trois vins d’assemblage et une quatrième cuvée alliant audacieusement des variétés «ethniques» (indigènes/autochtones) avec des cépages internationaux :

Clos de Tsampéhro Brut > Petite Arvine, Chardonnay et Pinot Noir
Clos de Tsampéhro Blanc > Rèze & Heïda
Clos de Tsampéhro Rouge > Cornalin, Merlot, Cabernet Sauvignon & Cabernet Franc
Le Completer du Clos de Tsampéhro


Les quatre crus font désormais partie de l’élite du vignoble suisse. KAIROS se réjouit de proposer à ses clients les quatre cuvées dont le rarissime Completer en accès limité. Des vins très haut de gamme mais qui savent également si bien toucher l’émotion à travers une vibration particulière en relation avec le génie du lieu.

À découvrir dans le magasin