DOMAINE DES VIGNES DU MAYNES

See on the online boutique


The origins of Clos des Vignes du Maynes can be traced back to the year 910, the year Cluny Abbey was founded by the Duke of Aquitaine. First owned by the Lords of the Château de Cruzille, the estate was purchased by Pierre and Jeanne Guillot in 1952. The Clos has never seen chemicals and has always been tended with the greatest respect for the earth. From the very beginning, Pierre, Julian’s grandfather, chose to make organic wines without any use of chemicals, herbicides, insecticides or sulphur. His son Alain continued with the same philosophy and in 1998 was joined by Julien, who introduced the first biodynamic preparations. In 2001 Julien Guillot took responsibility for the estate and decided to convert the entire seven hectares to biodynamic agriculture.

Facing directly east, the vines are greeted by the rising sun and benefit from a very specific type of limestone clay soil. With grassing over between the rows and low yields they produce a range of varietal wines of great authenticity: Pinot Noir, Gamay and Chardonnay. The grapes are picked by hand and no additives or SO2 are used in the entire process from picking to bottling.

The winemaking is kept as natural as possible, using wild yeasts, no sulphur, no enzymes and no chemical inputs. The wooden vats are thoroughly cleaned beforehand, then scrubbed with marc de Bourgogne to stimulate yeast activity. The grapes are sorted meticulously and placed in small crates when they are picked to ensure that they are not damaged and that each cluster reaches the cellar in as perfect a condition as possible. For the red wines the grapes undergo semi-carbonic maceration, using a method that has been perfected over three generations, with successive layers of whole clusters and destemmed grapes creating a kind of ‘cake’.

The red wines are then put into barrels or large wooden casks (no new wood), where they rest undisturbed until the following Easter. Racking is done on the waning and descending moon to ensure that the activity is as calm as possible, to avoid having to filter the wines. After that they are all blended and allowed to rest over a period of two full moons.

The white wines are matured in large casks to preserve their freshness and CO2 levels. The aim is to avoid excessive oakiness in the wines, as this is not the desired profile.

Julien Guillot’s wines are genuine terroir wines. Wines of rare poetry and authenticity, with incredible finesse and bewitching floral aromas. They are recognisable by their unique texture and silkiness, finishing on notes that reflect all the authenticity of the terroir.

Kairos has the pleasure of being able to offer a superb range of wines from Clos des Vignes du Maynes. Wines that are pure, distinguished and complex, made by a man who is absolutely passionate about what he does, and works with great respect for the terroir. These are immense wines that are capable of mellowing for many long years in the cellar.

In order to broaden the very limited range of estate wines, some wines are made from grapes purchased from other winegrowers who cultivate their vines organically. They are made in the Vignes du Maynes cellar and benefit from the same meticulous care as the estate wines. Where this is the case it is stated on the Product Sheet of the wine concerned.

See on the online boutique

DOMAINE DES VIGNES DU MAYNES

À découvrir dans le magasin


L’origine du Clos des Vignes du Maynes remonte à l’an 910, date de création de l’abbaye de Cluny par le Duc d’Aquitaine. Propriété des Seigneurs du Château de Cruzille, le domaine a été racheté en 1952 par Pierre et Jeanne Guillot. Le Clos n’a jamais connu la chimie et a toujours été cultivé dans le plus grand respect de la terre. Dès le début, le grand-père de Julien a décidé de faire des vins en agriculture biologique, sans produit chimique, sans désherbant, sans insecticide et sans soufre. Son fils Alain a ensuite repris le domaine dans cette même philosophie. Julien rejoint le Clos en 1998 où il introduit les premiers préparats biodynamiques, il reprend le domaine en 2001 et décide de convertir l’ensemble des 7 hectares à ce mode de culture.

Orientées plein est, les vignes sont saluées par le soleil levant et bénéficient d’un terroir argilo-calcaire spécifique. L’enherbement et les faibles rendements caractérisent ces vins authentiques de cépages : Pinot Noir, Gamay, Chardonnay. Les vendanges sont effectuées à la main et ne sont utilisés ni additif, ni SO2 depuis la vendange jusqu’à la mise en bouteille.

Les vinifications sont réalisées de la plus naturelle des façons : avec des levures indigènes, sans soufre, sans enzymes et sans aucun intrant chimique. Les cuves en bois sont lavées au préalable, elles sont brossées au marc de Bourgogne pour réveiller la fleur levurienne. Pendant les vendanges manuelles en petites caisses, un tri très soigneux est effectué afin de ne pas abimer les raisins, que chaque grume arrive en cuve dans un état le plus intègre possible. Sur les vins rouges, est effectué ensuite une macération semi-carbonique selon une méthode qui est l’aboutissement de trois générations. Le principe est de créer une sorte de mille-feuilles composé de plusieurs couches superposées de grappes entières et de raisins égrappés.

Tous les rouges sont ensuite élevés en futs ou en foudres (non neufs). Les vins ne sont plus touchés avant Pâques. Le soutirage a lieu sur lune descendante et décroissante, afin d’avoir une activité la plus calme possible. Tout cela dans l’optique d’éviter d’avoir à filtrer les vins. Ensuite, ils sont assemblés en masse et se reposent pendant deux pleines lunes.

Les blancs, eux, sont élevés dans des grands contenants afin de préserver la fraicheur et le gaz carbonique et éviter le côté boisé qui n’est pas recherché.

Les vins de Julien Guillot sont des vins de terroir, poétique, d’une authenticité rare et d’une incroyable finesse. Leurs arômes floraux sont envoutants. Ils se distinguent par ailleurs à travers une texture et un touché de bouche uniques et une finale qui reflète l’authenticité du terroir.

Kairos est heureux de vous proposer une belle gamme des vins du Clos des Vignes du Maynes, des vins purs, racés, complexes, produits par un homme passionné et respectueux du terroir. Des grands vins de table capables d’affronter de longues années en cave.

Dans le but de compléter la gamme très limitée des cuvées du domaine, quelques vins sont produits avec des raisins achetés auprès de vignerons externes travaillant leurs vignes selon les règles de l’agriculture biologique. Le travail à la cave est pratiqué au domaine des Vignes du Maynes et les vins concernés bénéficient des mêmes attentions que ceux du domaine. Le cas échéant ceci est précisé dans la fiche technique des vins concernés.

À découvrir dans le magasin