DOMAINE GAEC BALIVET – BUGEY & CERDON

See on the online boutique


Bugey sits in the south-east corner of the department of Ain, in the Rhone Alpes region of France, in the heart of the golden triangle formed by Lyon, Grenoble and Geneva. This discreet wine growing region, with vines that cover only 500 hectares, is a land of contrasting relief and great beauty that reserves many delightful surprises for visitors and wine lovers.

The AOC Bugey-Cerdon appellation was created in 2009. The seven hectares of Domaine Gaec Balivet, on stony, south, south-east facing inclines around the village of Mérignat, have been in the family for several generations and cultivated organically since 1984. They obtained Ecocert certification in 1999. The owners, Vincent and Cécile Balivet, are craft winemakers who produce an organic Cerdon made from Gamay and Poulsard.

They work the soils mainly by hand, and the vine prunings are shredded and turned into the soil after the addition of tisanes of home-made compost in order to encourage and develop life in the soils.

All treatments are natural, based on Bordeaux mixture, micronized sulphur, and extracts of seaweed and silica. The grapes are picked entirely by hand and pressed in a pneumatic press.

Bugey Cerdon wines are demi-sec sparkling wines, made using the ancestral method which consists of stopping alcoholic fermentation by a rapid reduction in temperature, thus retaining the level of residual sugar necessary to balance the wine’s acidity. It is then bottled and continues its fermentation, adding 1 to 2% to finally arrive at 8%.

The two Bugey Cerdon wines from Domaine Gaec Balivet that are proposed by KAIROS - the cuvee Gamay (monovarietal) et the cuvee Cécile (Gamay/Poulsard) - are superb sparkling rosés that are bubbly and luminous, joyful, fresh and delicious. Beautifully delicate and diaphanous, they will be unanimously appreciated!

See on the online boutique

DOMAINE GAEC BALIVET – BUGEY & CERDON

À découvrir dans le magasin


Le Bugey est situé au Sud-Est du département de l'Ain, au coeur de la région Rhône-Alpes et du triangle Lyon - Grenoble – Genève.

Son relief, très contrasté et de toute beauté, réserve bien des surprises aux amateurs et connaisseurs de vins. Le vignoble du Bugey est secret par sa taille puisqu'il couvre seulement 500 hectares.

C’est en 2009 que l’AOC Bugey-Cerdon voit le jour. Les 7 hectares du Domaine Gaec Balivet situés dans le village de Mérignat, sur des pentes pierreuses orientées sud/sud-est, au-dessus de l’Ain, sont en mains familliales depuis plusieurs générations et exploités en culture biologique depuis 1984. La certification Ecocert est obtenue en 1999.

Vincent Balivet et Cécile en Gaec, propriétaires vignerons produisent un cerdon en agriculture biologique à base des cépages Gamay et Poulsard.

Les sols de la vigne sont travaillés en grande partie manuellement, les bois de taille sont broyés et enfuis par labour suite à l’ajout de tisanes de compost fait maison afin de favoriser et enrichir la faune des sols.

Les traitements sont naturels, à base de bouillie bordelaise, soufre micronisé, produits à base d’algues et de silice. La cueillette est manuelle et les raisins pressés dans un pressoir pneumatique.

Les Bugey Cerdon sont des vins demi-sec élaborés selon le principe de la méthode ancestrale, qui consiste à bloquer la fermentation alcoolique par le froid et à garder les sucres résiduels nécessaires à l’équilibre de l’acidité. Puis le vin est mis en bouteille où il continue sa fermentation en prenant encore 1 à 2 % pour atteindre finalement environ 8%.

Les deux cuvées Cerdon Bugey du Domaine Gaec Balivet, cuvée Gamay (monocépage) et cuvée Cécile (Gamay/Poulsar) proposées par KAIROS sont de beaux rosés pétillants et lumineux, gais, frais, gourmands et fruités en bouche. Un très joli et délicat breuvage, féminin et tout en douceur, dédié à vous Mesdames, mais pas seulement…. !!

À découvrir dans le magasin