DOMAINE LA COLOMBE

See on the online boutique


This 19-hectare estate that has been in the hands of the Paccot family for four generations is situated in the tiny village of Féchy, in the Swiss department of the Vaud, where vines have been growing on the gentle slopes rolling down to Lake Geneva for a thousand years or more.

Féchy, 490 metres altitude, 200 hectares of vines mainly planted with Chasselas. Diverse soils, ranging from limestone, sand and loam, to clay. The climate is influenced by the proximity of Lake Geneva, the Alps and the Jura mountains, providing all the necessary conditions for the production of wines of great quality.

At Domaine La Colombe the soils are maintained without any use of chemical herbicides in order to maintain the microbial life of the earth. The grape skins are composted, mixed with manure and left for a year before being spread in the vines.

Insecticides have also been banished. The products used to protect the vines are simply Bordeaux mixture, sulphur and biodynamic preparations and infusions of plants such as nettle, horsetail and yarrow.

Biodynamic methods, introduced progressively since 1999, are used today across the entire vineyard. This method of cultivation that respects the soil, natural rhythms, the plants and human life, enables each of the wines and their terroirs to give of their full expression. The majority of the wines are Demeter certified.

Domaine La Colombe crafts wines with a sense of place, anchored in the nature of the soils, the choice of grape varieties and their methods of winemaking. Highly expressive wines of emotion, nuance and delicacy that are imprinted with the terroir.

The Paccot family are constantly experimenting, with a permanent desire to progress whilst concentrating firmly on essential values. They have well understood the importance of the terroir and the best way to harness it to give better grapes, better wines, with full respect for nature. It’s not simply a question of employing a technique to control life and produce better wines. On the contrary, it’s about being inspired by and having faith in the dynamics of life, about learning to live!

Raymond Paccot was elected “Icon of Swiss Wine” in 2019 by Gault & Millau for his extraordinary contribution to the world of wine. He is, and will remain, a model for generations of winemakers to come, starting with his talented daughter, Laura, who in January of the same year assumed responsibility for the estate in total complicity and perfect accord with Raymond and his philosophy. With ambassadors of this calibre for its wines, there is no doubt that Chasselas will gain the noble status that it merits.

Kairos is delighted to present four magnificent La Colombe wines, specially selected for our clients. The elegant cuvée Amédée (Savagnin) and the amazing Fechy aged in Foudre (Chasselas) for the whites, and Colombe Noire (a delicate, refined Pinot for laying down, made from 50-year-old vines), and Colombe Rouge (a distinctive blend of Gamaret, Merlot and Syrah aged in oak) for the reds.

See on the online boutique

DOMAINE LA COLOMBE

À découvrir dans le magasin


Le domaine de 19 hectares en mains de la famille Paccot depuis 4 générations se situe en Suisse dans le canton de Vaud à Féchy, petit village descendant en pente douce vers le Lac Léman, où la culture de la vigne est millénaire.

Féchy, 490 mètres d’altitude, 200 hectares de vignes sur lesquels le Chasselas pousse majoritairement. Une nature de sols divers, allant du calcaire au limoneux, en passant par le sablonneux et l’argile. Le climat est influencé par le Lac Léman, le Jura et les Alpes, toutes les conditions sont requises pour produire des vins de grandes qualités.

Sur le domaine La Colombe l’entretien du sol est pratiqué sans aucun désherbant chimique, afin de conserver la vie microbienne de celui-ci. Le propre marc est composté et mélangé à du fumier, pendant un an, avant de le remettre dans les vignes.

L’emploi d’insecticides a été supprimé, les produits de traitement utilisés pour la protection du vignoble sont uniquement de la bouillie bordelaise, du soufre, des préparats biodynamiques et des infusions à base de plantes comme l’ortie, la prête ou l’achillée mille-feuille.

La méthode biodynamique, introduite progressivement depuis 1999, est aujourd’hui pratiquée sur l’ensemble du vignoble. Cette méthode de culture qui respecte le sol, les rythmes naturels, la plante et l’humain, permet de mieux laisser s’exprimer le caractère de chacun des vins et de leur terroir. Les vins sont majoritairement certifiés du label Demeter.

Le Domaine La Colombe produit des vins identitaires, tant dans la nature des sols, des choix des cépages et de leur vinification. Des vins d’émotion, tout en nuance et en délicatesse, très expressifs et fortement imprégnés du caractère du terroir.

Chez les Paccots on expérimente dans une recherche permanente de progresser tout en se concentrant sur l’essentiel. On a compris l’importance du terroir et comment l’exploiter au mieux dans le respect de la nature, pour donner les meilleurs raisins, les meilleurs vins. Il ne s’agit pas d’appliquer une technique pour mieux maîtriser la vie et produire des vins meilleurs ; il s’agit au contraire de se laisser inspirer et d’avoir confiance dans la dynamique du vivant, pour apprendre à vivre !

Raymond Paccot a été récompensé en 2019 par Gault & Millau pour son travail hors normes au service de la vigne par la distinction d’Icone du vin suisse. Il est et restera un modèle pour les générations de vignerons qui le suivront. A commencer par sa talentueuse fille Laura qui en janvier de la même année a repris les rennes du domaine en grande complicité avec Raymond et en parfait accord avec sa philosophie. Avec de tels ambassadeurs à travers leurs vins, il n’y a pas de doute que le Chasselas trouve toute la noblesse qu’il mérite.

Kairos est très heureux de présenter quatre magnifiques cuvées La Colombe sélectionnées pour nos clients. L’élégante cuvée Amédée (Savagnin) et le surprenant et confidentiel Fechy élevé en Foudre (Chasselas) pour les blancs. Colombe Noire (un Pinot délicat et racé, de garde et issu de vignes cinquantenaires) et Colombe Rouge (un vin à part proposant un assemblage de cépages du domaine / Gamaret / Merlot / Syrah / et élevé en fûts de chêne).

À découvrir dans le magasin