MARIE-THERESE CHAPPAZ

See on the online boutique


Marie-Thérèse Chappaz’s vines stretch out over 12 hectares around the villages of Fully, Charrat, Leytron and Chamoson. The very specific climatic and geological conditions that exist here (more than 2000 sunshine hours per annum, 600mm of rain and granitic soils at Fully), combined with local grape varieties such as Petite Arvine, Humagne Rouge and Cornalin or others such as Syrah and Marsanne, well adapted to this terroir of the upper Rhone valley, create idyllic conditions for producing unique wines.

Marie-Thérèse took over the family vineyards in 1987 and produced her first vintage in 1988.

Her wines are a reflection of her approach to the environment and the passion that drives her in search of authenticity and quality.

It was after visiting a specialist in biodynamics in 1997 that Marie-Thérèse resolved to convert her estate to biodynamic viticulture, consistent with her philosophy of respect for the environment, living beings and the terroir. It was a Damascene moment.

"Biodynamic agriculture is the agriculture of the future which will contribute to the well-being of the earth".

She puts the emphasis on listening to nature, in all its respirations and silences. A respect that translates into biodynamic practices, where the vine is in harmony with the cosmos and everyday actions are undertaken with modesty.

With patience and humility, Marie-Thérèse perpetually seeks to put her personal stamp on her wines, to imbue them with history, terroir and hope. She believes in minimum intervention and less and less use of inputs. No synthetic treatments or fertilizers are used in the vines. Only tisanes, home-made compost, organic matter and biodynamic preparations. And in the cellar, no sugar or enzymes but indigenous yeasts and very limited quantities of sulphur, and not in all the wines. Plus a great deal of good humour….

in 1996, Marie-Thérèse was named ‘Winemaker of the Year’ by Gault & Millau. She figured in their top 100 best winemakers and was also nominated ‘Icon of Swiss Wine’ in 2016 for her outstanding engagement and contribution to the quality and reputation of Swiss wines.

On 8 November 2015 at the Villa d’Este World Wine Symposium in Cernobbio, on the shores of Lake Como in Italy, she received the Prix d’Excellence Lalique-Villa d’Este “Lady of Wine” 2015 from the hands of François Mauss. And in 2017 she was elected “ValaiStar” as personality of the year in the Valais. These prestigious awards are a just recognition of her exceptional career.

Kairos presents a selection of the jewels that are Marie-Thérèse Chappaz’s wines, and are proud to include her as ambassador of the philosophy that we share and wish to promote.

See on the online boutique

MARIE-THERESE CHAPPAZ

À découvrir dans le magasin


Le domaine de Marie-Thérèse Chappaz s'étend sur 12 hectares répartis sur quatre villages : Fully, Charrat, Leytron et Chamoson. Avec plus de 2000 heures d’ensoleillement, 600 mn de pluie par an et un sol granitique, le village de Fully bénéficie de conditions climatiques et géologiques spécifiques. Cette exception, associée à la variété des cépages autochtones, tels que la Petite Arvine, l'Humagne Rouge ou encore le Cornalin et d'autres comme la Syrah et la Marsanne, bien adaptés dans cette haute vallée du Rhône, créent les conditions idylliques pour l'élaboration de vins uniques.

En 1987, Marie-Thérèse reprit les vignes familiales ; 1988 fut l’année de la vinification de son premier millésime.

Les vins de Marie-Thérèse Chappaz reflètent son approche de l'environnement et sa passion dans la recherche de l’authenticité et de la qualité.

C’est en 1997 lors d’une visite chez un spécialiste en biodynamie que Marie-Thérèse décide de convertir son domaine en biodynamie, démarche en phase avec sa philosophie de respect de l’environnement, de la vie et du terroir. Ce fut un véritable déclic.

"L’agriculture biodynamique est véritablement une agriculture d’avenir qui contribuera à soigner la Terre".

Elle privilégie l’écoute de la nature, de sa respiration et de ses silences. Cette quête respectueuse se concrétise dans la biodynamie, une méthode douce où la vigne est en lien avec le cosmos et où le travail quotidien revêt un habit de modestie.

Perpétuellement, Marie-Thérèse cherche à personnaliser son vin, à le rendre, avec patience et humilité, porteur d’un passé, d’un terroir, d’un espoir. Sa philosophie : pas trop d’interventions et de moins en moins d’intrants de l’extérieur. A la vigne, pas de produits de synthèse, ni d’engrais. Uniquement des tisanes, du compost fait maison, des plantes, des préparations biodynamiques. A la cave, des levures indigènes. Pas de sucre, ni d’enzymes. Des sulfites en quantité limitée et pas dans tous les vins. Et de la bonne humeur.

L’œuvre de Marie-Thérèse Chappaz est récompensée par Gault et Millau qui la consacre en 1996 "Vigneronne de l’année". Après une sélection au top 100 des meilleurs vignerons, le guide lui décerne, dans son édition 2016, le titre "Icône du vin suisse", distinction témoignant de son intense engagement en faveur de la qualité et de la renommée des vins suisses.

Le 8 novembre 2015 au Villa d’Este Wine Symposium à Cernobbio sur les rives du Lac de Côme (Italie), Marie-Thérèse Chappaz a reçu le Prix d’excellence Lalique-Villa d’Este 2015 "Lady of Wine" remis par François Mauss. Elle est sacrée ValaiStar 2017. Ces reconnaissances prestigieuses récompensent sa carrière exceptionnelle.

Kairos Products vous présente un choix des joyaux de Marie-Thérèse Chappaz et a le privilège de la compter comme ambassadrice de la philosophie que nous partageons et souhaitons promouvoir.

À découvrir dans le magasin