VALENTINA ANDREI

See on the online boutique


A rising star on the Swiss wine scene, Valentina Andrei first discovered her love for viticulture and the vines during her childhood in Roumania, whilst harvesting in her family’s vineyards. Her mother owned a few plots of vines that had been in the family for generations. Now established at Saillon in the Valais region of Switzerland, she cultivates a mosaic of parcels totalling 4.3 hectares dispersed across 10 communes, from Martigny to Grimisuat. Her preferred grape varieties are Chasselas, Arvine, Païen, Roussanne, Gamay, Humagne, Cornalin and Syrah.

Valentina lavishes love on her vines, tending them with the utmost respect and in the most natural way possible. Everything is done with her own hands, whether it is soil tilling, selecting the plants and flowers that will grow there, pruning, disbudding, trellising, leaf thinning, bunch selection, trimming or harvesting. An approach of the greatest authenticity and devotion, using tisanes, essential oils and silica, following the lunar calendar, but devoid of all dogmatism. Rigorous and precise, with her sights permanently set on excellence, Valentina Andrei is not afraid to do things differently.

For her, it is above all a question of terroir. This leads her to seek the best possible correlation between soil and wines. She describes her wines as “terroir crus”, uses indigenous yeasts, works largely with parcel selections and ages her wines in old barrels. The wines are distinctive above all for their freshness, elegance, finesse and character. Qualities that she focusses on unwaveringly in her desire to evolve.

She never forgets to mention her illustrious mentors, notably Marie-Thérèse Chappaz. In their six years together, this pioneer of biodynamics showed Valentina the importance of matching soil to the grape variety and the need for intransigence in tasting. And Jacques Granges of Domaine de Beudon instilled in her a profound respect for the earth.

In 2018, the year she turned 35, Valentina was nominated “Espoir de l’Année” (Rookie of the year) by Gault & Millau. It was the year that this gifted young woman signed off her fourth vintage on the estate, producing a quality of wines that is now acclaimed well beyond the Swiss frontiers.

Kairos is particularly proud to count Valentina Andrei amongst the producers that have entrusted us with their wines. We are delighted to propose to our customers some of her magnificent creations, such as Païen, Petite Arvine, Merlot de Champ Dury and Selena.



See on the online boutique

VALENTINA ANDREI

À découvrir dans le magasin


L’amour pour la vigne de Valentina Andrei étoile montante de la viticulture suisse, remonte à son enfance en Roumanie lorsque elle vendangeait aux côtés de sa famille. Sa mère possédait quelques parcelles, transmises de génération en génération. Installée aujourd’hui en Suisse à Saillon dans le canton du Valais, elle travaille 4,3 hectares de vignes. Une mosaïque de parcelles disséminées sur 10 communes, de Martigny à Grimisuat. Ses cépages de prédilection sont le Chasselas, l’Arvine, le Païen, la Roussanne, le Gamay, l’Humagne, le Cornalin et la Syrah.

Valentina travaille ses vignes avec amour, de la manière la plus respectueuse et naturelle possible. Que ce soit pour le travail du sol, la sélection des plantes et des fleurs qui y vivent, la taille, l’ébourgeonnement, le palissage, l’effeuillage, l’équilibrage des grappes, le cisaillage puis la vendange, elle intervient de ses mains, avec la plus grande authenticité et fidélité. Le tout à grands renforts de tisanes, d’huiles essentielles, de silice, et en observant le calendrier lunaire, mais sans dogmatisme. Rigoureuse et pointue, sans cesse en quête d’excellence, Valentina Andrei n’hésite pas à sortir des sentiers battus.

De terroir il est avant tout question chez elle! Sa sensibilité la pousse à chercher la meilleure adéquation entre le sol et ses vins. Valentina Andrei décrit ses vins comme des crus de terroir, utilise des levures indigènes et fait beaucoup de sélections parcellaires et d’élevage en vieilles barriques. Ses vins se caractérisent avant tout par leur fraîcheur, de l’élégance, de la finesse et du caractère. Qualités qu’elle recherche obstinément dans sa quête de progression.

Elle n’oublie jamais de citer ses illustres mentors, Marie-Thérèse Chappaz en tête. Au cours des six années passées à ses côtés, cette pionnière de la biodynamie lui a transmis l’importance de l’adéquation entre sol et cépage et l’intransigeance dans la dégustation. Jacques Granges, du domaine de Beudon, lui a inculqué le respect de la terre. Valentina a été nommée Espoir de l’année (Rocky of the year) 2018 par Gault&Millau.

Année des 35 ans de la jeune femme, 2018 marque officiellement le quatrième millésime du domaine. Alors qu’aujourd’hui la qualité de ses vins est saluée au-delà des frontières helvétiques.

Kairos Products se réjouit particulièrement de compter Valentina Andrei parmi les producteurs qui nous témoignent leur confiance et de pouvoir proposer quelques très belles cuvées sélectionnées pour nos clients telles que le Païen, la Petite Arvine, le Merlot de Champ Dury et le Selena.

À découvrir dans le magasin